Follow Us:

Communication and Information

©unesco/r. cabezas

The Communication and Information Sector (CI) is one of the five sectors of UNESCO. It was established in 1990 and consists of two Divisions:

  • Freedom of Expression and Media Development
  • Knowledge Societies Division

CI Programmes are rooted in UNESCO's Constitution, which requires the Organization to promote the free flow of ideas by word and image. 

The sector also provides the secretariats for two intergovernmental programmes: the International Programme for the Development of Communication (IPDC) and the Information for All Programme (IFAP). CI also participates in the Asia Pacific Information Netowrk (APIN).

The principal strategic objectives of the Sector's programmes are:

  • Promoting the free flow of ideas and universal access to information
  • Promoting the expression of pluralism and cultural diversity in the media and world information networks
  • Promoting access for all to ICTs
  • Preserving documentary heritage


Working with all countries in Asia, the CI Unit accords priority to UNESCO Member States in the Bangkok Office cluster: Lao PDR, Myanmar, Vietnam, Cambodia, Singapore and Thailand