Follow Us:

Programme Phases


The programme emphasizes a hands-on approach, with material delivered in a combination of lectures and interactive practical exercises. Site visits and field activities all give participants the chance to put their learning into practice. Additional readings by leading experts are provided as in-depth reference material for further study.

Preparatory Phase

In this phase UNESCO, policy makers,  tourism experts, the private sector and cultural heritage organizations come together to plan a regionally relevant programme. The group reviews existing training material, finalises participant invitations, decides upon the overall framework of the different modules and selects appropriate teaching techniques

Phase 1: Training Sub-Regional Trainers

This phase is dedicated to Training the Trainers via a series of sub-regional workshops. Participants are drawn from training institutions from both the tourism and culture sectors. The aim is to introduce the selected trainers to the training programme, teach them the core and sub regional thematic material, refine lesson plans and teaching methods and plan for national implementation of the programme.

Phase 2: Training National Trainers

Customization of training materials and training the trainers at national level. In this phase accredited trainers take the lead in customizing the training material for their own country. They are responsible for Training the Trainers at a national level.

Phase 3: Certification of Guides

National level training/certification of guides. In Phase Three, accredited trainers in each country will train and certify guides at World Heritage sites, in accordance with the standards of the Cultural Heritage Specialist Guide Programme.

Phase 4: Revalidating Certificates

Re-validation of certification. Guides need to undergo periodical evaluation to ensure their knowledge and skills match the needs of the visitors. Each national programme sets their own re-validation criteria.