Follow Us:

Horizontal Navigation Bar w/Rollover Effect

UNESCO Asia-Pacific Heritage Award Winners


2011 Award of Excellence: Baojiatun Watermill in China

2011 Award of Excellence: Sumda Chun Gonpa in India

2011 Jury Commendation for Innovation: Sydney Harbour YHA and the Big Dig Archaeology Education Centre in Australia

2011 Jury Commendation for Innovation: Ma’anqiao Village in China

2012 Award of Excellence: Mbaru Niang in Wae Rebo Village, Flores Island, East Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia

2012 Jury Commendation: Reading Room of the Portuguese School of Macau in Macao (SAR)

2013 Award of Excellence: Phra Borommathat Maha Chedi and Pharin Pariyattithammasala of Wat Prayurawongsawas, Bangkok, Kingdom of Thailand


The UNESCO Asia-Pacific Awards for Culture Heritage Conservation span a wide range of conservation projects from private residences to palace complexes. Many of the entries have set technical and social benchmarks for conservation in the region, while acting as catalysts for local preservation activity.  Over the years, the projects illustrate the increasing momentum and level of conservation in Asia and the Pacific. Projects have been submitted from Afghanistan, Antarctica, Australia, Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Iran, Japan, Kazakhstan, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Mongolia, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Uzbekistan, and Viet Nam.

For the Jury Commendation for Innovation, projects have been received from Australia, China, India, Iran, Nepal, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Singapore and Thailand.

The table below provides summary information of the projects over the years.