Follow Us:

Winners for the 2008 UNESCO Asia-Pacific Heritage Awards

Herat City

1a Stadium Merdeka 2008

1d Fujian Earth Buildings 2008

1d National Pass 2008

1b Suffolk House 2008

1a Mountbatten Rd 2008 01

1b Wat Pongsanuk 2008

4a Vysial St

1c 2 Amphawa Canal Community 2008

1b 2008 Archiepiscopal Palace

1b Bach 38 2008

1b Bethanie 2008

1d Craigie Burn Bungalow 2008

1b 1 Crown Property Bureau 2008

Herat Old City in Afghanistan and Stadium Merdeka in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia have been honoured with the two Awards of Excellence in the 2008 UNESCO Asia-Pacific Heritage Awards for Culture Heritage Conservation.  
The three Awards of Distinction went to the National Pass in the Blue Mountains, New South Wales, Australia, the Fujian Earth Buildings in Fujian Province, China and Suffolk House in Penang, Malaysia.

The three Awards of Merit include Vysial Street in Pondicherry, India, the Shigar Historic Settlements and Bazaar Area in the Northern Areas, Pakistan and Wat Pongsanuk in Lampang, Thailand. 

Six Honourable Mentions were also announced. They are the Béthanie in Hong Kong SAR, China, the Archiepiscopal Palace in Goa, India, the Craigie Burn Bungalow in Matheran, India, Bach 38 in Rangitoto Island, Auckland, New Zealand, the Amphawa Canal Community in Amphawa District, Samut Songkhram Province, Thailand and the Crown Property Bureau Building  in Chachoengsao Province, Thailand.

A total of 45 entries, from 13 countries in the region, were submitted for consideration. The conservation project entries include hotels, offices, cultural institutions, educational institutions, religious sites, memorials, public institutions, residential buildings and urban districts. 

The 2008 Heritage Awards Jury Commendation for Innovation was awarded to 733 Mountbatten Road (Singapore). The Jury Commendation recognizes newly-built structures which demonstrate outstanding standards for contemporary architectural design which are well integrated into historic contexts. 

Further information about the UNESCO Asia-Pacific Heritage Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation and this year’s winning entries can be found at: