Follow Us:

Horizontal Navigation Bar w/Rollover Effect

Winners of 2009 UNESCO Asia-Pacific Heritage Awards

sangindalai unesco09

Ali Gohar House

Hanok Regeneration in Bukchon

M24Midget Submarine Wreck

Huai Hai Lu796



YMCAStudents Branch resize

Former Royal Air Force Officers resize

Cicheng Historic Town

Relic s panorama after restoring

YWCALady Willingdon Hostel resize

Maosi Ecological Demonstration resize

Press Release: English


Sangiin Dalai Monastery in South Gobi Aimaq, Republic of Mongolia has been honoured with the Award of Excellence in the 2009 UNESCO Asia-Pacific Heritage Awards for Culture Heritage Conservation.  

A total of 48 entries, from 14 countries in the region, were submitted for consideration. The conservation project entries include hotels, offices, cultural institutions, educational institutions, religious sites, public institutions, residential buildings and urban districts.

The three Awards of Distinction went to the M24 Midget Submarine Wreck in Sydney, Australia; the Ali Gohar House in Hunza, Pakistan and Hanok Regeneration in Bukchon in Seoul, Republic of Korea.

The four Awards of Merit include the Huai Hai Lu 796 in Shanghai, China; the YMCA Students Branch in Mumbai, India; the Waterworks Building in Auckland, New Zealand and the Samchuk Community and Old Market District in Suphanburi, Thailand.

Four Honourable Mentions were also announced. They are the Academy of Visual Arts (Former Royal Air Force Officers’ Mess) at Hong Kong Baptist University in Hong Kong SAR, China; the Heritage Buildings in Cicheng Historic Town in Zhejiang Province, China; the YWCA Lady Willingdon Hostel in Mumbai, India and the Tang Family Chapel in Hoi An, Viet Nam.

The 2009 Heritage Awards Jury Commendation for Innovation was awarded to the Maosi Ecological Demonstration Primary School (China). The Jury Commendation recognizes newly-built structures which demonstrate outstanding standards for contemporary architectural design which are well integrated into historic contexts. The 2009 Jury Commendation submissions include four projects (an educational institution, a mausoleum, an urban district and a residential development) from three countries in the region. 

Further information about the UNESCO Asia-Pacific Heritage Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation and this year’s winning entries can be found at: