Follow Us:

2014 UNESCO Asia‐Pacific Heritage Awards Winners Announced

BANGKOK, 2 September 2014 - A total of 14 projects from 10 countries, including Afghanistan, the Islamic Republic of Iran, New Zealand and Thailand, have been recognized in this year’s UNESCO Asia‐ Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation.

A panel of international conservation experts met in June to review 46 entries from across the Asia‐Pacific region.

“Although there was no Award of Excellence given this year there was an overall increase in projects awarded which gives hope for a general rise in the standards of heritage conservation by non‐state actors within the Asia‐Pacific region,”  said Tim Curtis, Chair of the Jury and Chief of the Culture Unit, UNESCO Bangkok.

The  restoration of  the  Saryazd  Citadel,  Yazd,  Islamic  Republic  of  Iran  has  been  honoured  with  an Award of Distinction. The award recognized the commitment made by private sector partnerships to protect a unique historic desert complex, while providing significant socio‐economic benefits for the local community through renewed employment opportunities.

Other Awardees included:

Awards of Merit:

- Exeter Farm, Glenwood, New South Wales, Australia

Shri Sakhargad Niwasini Devi Temple Complex, Kinhai Village, Maharashtra, India

Frankton Boatshed, Queenstown, New Zealand

Wak Hai Cheng Bio, Singapore

Phraya Si Thammathirat Residence, Bangkok, Thailand


Honourable Mention:

Shahzada Hussain Mausoleum, Karez Village, Helmand Province, Afghanistan

Cape Inscription Lighthouse Keepers’ Quarters, Shark Bay, Western Australia, Australia

Rottnest Island World War II Coastal Defences, Rottnest Island, Western Australia, Australia

Nanjing Yihe Mansions, Jiangsu Province, China

Esplanade House, Mumbai, India

De Driekleur, Bandung, Indonesia

Gali Surjan Singh, Lahore, Pakistan


Jury Commendation for Innovation:

Lucky Shophouse, Singapore


The UNESCO Asia‐Pacific Awards for Cultural Heritage Conservation programme recognizes the efforts of private individuals and organizations that have successfully restored and conserved structures and buildings of heritage value in the region. By recognizing private efforts to restore and adapt historic properties the awards aim to encourage other property owners to undertake conservation projects within their communities, either independently or by seeking public‐private partnerships.

The winners were selected based on how the projects reflected a clear understanding and application of various criteria, such as the articulation of the spirit of place, technical achievement, appropriate use or adaption, and the project’s contribution to the surrounding environment as well as the local community’s cultural and historical continuity.

Eligible projects must be more than 50 years old and the restoration must have been completed within the past 10 years.  Buildings with a new use must have also been in viable use for at least one year from the date of the awards announcement.

The 2014 and 2015 cycles of the Heritage Awards are generously supported by the Sino‐Ocean Charity Foundation (Beijing, People’s Republic of China):

See images of this year’s winning entries at:

For press, high-resolution images of this year's award recipients are available here:

The Call for Entries for the 2015 UNESCO Heritage Awards shall be made in October 2014, and further details will be available on the awards website.


Media contact:

Noel Boivin, Media and Communications Officer, UNESCO Bangkok

Tel : (66 2) 391‐0577 Ext. 347

Fax: (66 2) 391‐0866