Follow Us:

Call for nominations for the UNESCO-Japan Prize on ESD 2017

The third edition of the UNESCO-Japan Prize on Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) has been launched. Generously funded by the Government of Japan, the UNESCO-Japan Prize on ESD consists of three annual awards of US $50,000 for each recipient. It was established by the UNESCO Executive Board at its 195th session, and awarded for the first time in 2015. All stakeholders involved in ESD (regional governments, public/private educational institutions, NGOs, local communities, media) have the opportunity to participate. 

The 2017 nomination process takes place online via a platform accessible through the UNESCO website: Permanent Delegations, National Commissions and NGOs in official partnership with UNESCO will be able to connect with their existing generic UNESTEAMS accounts. 

The online nominations should be submitted by Permanent Delegations to UNESCO via the online form for download in English or French by 2 May 2017 at the very latest (midnight, Paris time). 

Further information on the Prize and its nomination process, including a user guide for the online platform, can be accessed at Any enquiries with regard to the nomination process should be addressed to Ms. Miriam Tereick (see below).




Contact Information:
Ms. Miriam Tereick
UNESCO - Section of Education for Sustainable Development and Global Citizenship
7, Place de Fontenoy
F-75352 Paris, France
Phone: +33 1 45 68 16 68