Follow Us:

Four Cities in Asia Receive UNESCO Learning City Award 2017

Sixteen cities have been selected by an international jury to receive a UNESCO Learning City Award 2017 in recognition of their outstanding progress in promoting education and lifelong learning within their communities, including the following four cities in the Asia-Pacific region.

-          Hangzhou (China)

-          Okayama (Japan)

-          Surabaya (Indonesia)

-          Suwon (Republic of Korea)


The UNESCO Learning City Award has been established to encourage and reward progress achieved in developing learning cities around the world. The award is integral to the UNESCO Global Network of Learning Cities project, a flagship initiative led by UIL to support the achievement of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.


To learn more about the Learning City Award and the awardees from around the world, follow this link.


Contact Information:

UNESCO Institute for Lifelong Learning (UIL)

Feldbrunnenstrasse 58

20148 Hamburg


Phone: +49 40 4 480 410

Fax: +49 40 4 10 77 23