Follow Us:

The Association of Asian Social Science Research Councils (AASSREC)

AASSREC provides a forum to promote the sharing of information among social scientists working in Asia, and encourages visits and exchanges of scholars between research institutions. The organization also promotes research opportunities for young social scientists and fosters joint research projects between individuals and institutions.

Established in 1973, AASSREC has fourteen member countries (see the AASSREC website). With financial assistance from UNESCO, the network has organizes biennial conferences on different topics. Published reports on the proceedings of these meetings are available from RUSHSAP, along with copies of the AASSREC-initiated series Introducing Asian Societies, which profiles a number of Asian countries.

Directory of Member-Councils

(latest details are on the AASSREC website) The AASSREC Secretariat can be contacted at: Dr John Beaton Executive Director GPO Box 1956 Canberra ACT 2601 AUSTRALIA Telephone: +61 2 6249 1788 Facsimile: +61 2 6247 4335 Email:

Download [pdf]

Members' Focal Points

Mr Barry Clissold
Executive Officer
Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia
University House
Australian National University
G.P.O. Box 1956
Canberra ACT 2601

Mr Abdur Rahim Khan
Deputy Project Director, SSRC, Bangladesh
Telefax: (88-02) 3911-8729

Social Science Research Council of Bangladesh (SSRC)
Ministry of Planning
Sher-e Bangla Nagar
Dhaka-1207, Bangladesh
Telefax: (88-02) 911-8726

Professor Teng Teng
Vice-President of AASSREC
and Vice-President
Chinese Academy of Social Sciences
5 Jianguomennei Dajie
Beijing 100732
People’s Republic of China

Dr Chon Jong Hyok
Executive Secretary
Korean Association of Social Scientists (KASS)
P.O. Box 108 Chungsongdong
Central District
Democratic People’s Republic of Korea

Dr R. Barman Chandra
Executive Director and Member-Secretary (in-charge)
Indian Council of Social Science Research
P.O. Box No. 10528
Aruna Asaf Ali Marg
New Delhi 110067

Dr Arjuno Brojonegoro
Deputy Chairman
Indonesian Institute of Sciences (LIPI)
Widya Graha
Jalan Jenderal Gatot Subroto 10
Jakarta Selatan

Professor Joji Watanuk
Chair, National Committee for AASSREC
c/o Institute of International Relations
Sophia University
7-1 K101 Cho, Chiyoda-ku
Tokyo 102

Dr Emma Speight
Social Science Programme Manager
Foundation for Research, Science and Technology
P.O. Box 12-240
New Zealand

Dr K.F. Yusuf
National Institute of Historical and Cultural Research (NIHCR)
House No. 605, Street 29, G-10/2

Dr Virginia A. Miralao
Executive Director, PSSC

Philippine Social Science Council (PSSC)
PSS Center, Commonwealth Avenue
Diliman, 1101 Quezon City, Philippines
Tel. No. (632) 926-2671; 922-9625
Fax No. (632) 924-4178; 929-2602

Mr Anatoli Egochkine

Commission of the Russian Federation for UNESCO
9 Vozdvizhenka Str.
Moscow 121019
Russian Federation

Dr Byung-Young Ahn
President of AASSREC
and President
Korean Social Science Research Council
304-28, Sajik-dong
Seoul 110-054
Republic of Korea

Professor A.J. Gunawardana
Vice-President of AASSREC
Department of English
University of Sri Jayawardenepura
Gangodivila, Nugegoda
Sri Lanka

Academician Sabit Negmatulldev
Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Tadjikistan
Rudaki Street-33
734025, Dushanbe-25

Mr Chirapandh Arthachinta
National Research Council
196 Phaholyothin Road
Bangkok 10900

Professor Nguyen Duy Quy
National Centre for Social Sciences and Humanities of Vietnam (NCSSH)
36 Hangchuoi Street

Page last updated 10 October 2007