Follow Us:

Ethical Frameworks for Research Agenda and Policy

What criteria do policymakers use in deciding to adopt energy technologies, and how are ethical considerations taken into account? How should policy makers identify and employ the precautionary principle? How can they ensure appropriate gender-sensitive aspects in policy formulation from planning through implementation and impact assessment, emphasizing that all people in a society are assets in environmental and energy management? This group will examine the different understanding of ethical frameworks by looking at critical ethical issues including: codes of ethics for researchers, societal values, rights of all participants (stakeholders), rights of indigenous peoples, religious values, legal issues and take account of the conclusions of the specialized working groups above. After a review of all policies it will analyze the ethical frameworks inherent in the documents to draw up a model ethical framework.

Draft report is available to donwload [pdf file] updated on 4 August 2009. We call for further contributions. 

Meetings of this Working Group were held: 4 November 2008 at the Ninth Asian Bioethics Conference, Joygakarta, Indonesia; 30 April, 2009 in Tehran, Iran; and 16-19 June 2009, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

The following is a list of current working group participants:

Professor Abhik Gupta (chair):[at]
Professor Dewi Anwar: dfanwar[at]
Dr. Anant Bhan: anantbhan[at]
Mr. Joel Brown: joelmich[at]
Dr. Anisah Che Ngah: anisah[at]
Dr. John Fien: john.fien[at]
Mr. W Calvin Ho: etus16[at]
Dr. Brigitte Jansen: jansen[at]
Dr. Matthias Kaiser: matthias.kaiser[at]
Dr. Darryl Macer: d.macer[at]
Ms. Lea Ivy O. Manzanero: leaivy.manzanero[at]
Dr. Firuza Nasyrova: firuza_nasyrova[at]
Dr. Amru Hydari Nazif: amru96[at]
Dr. Anisah Che Ngah: anisah[at]
Mr. Dipankar Saha: dipu_1962[at]
Dr. Bakhyt Sarymsakova: bakhyts[at]
Dr. M. Selvanayagam: drmssel[at]
Mr. Nguyen Quang Vinh: vinhnq[at]
Dr. Susan Vize: s.vize[at] 
Professor John Weckert: jweckert[at]
Lea Ivy O. Manzanero: leaivy.manzanero[at] 

If you are interested in joining the working group, or participating in a meeting, please send an email to: and


This page was last updated on 23 August 2011