Follow Us:

Repository of Ethical Worldviews

 

Are there worldviews inherent in philosophical and religious traditions of the Asia Pacific that shape ethical relationships with the natural world? Are these anthropocentric, biocentric, ecocentric or cosmocentric worldviews? How do our worldviews allocate value and meaning to people, plants, animals and the biosphere? What are the relationships between such worldviews and actual decisions made by policymakers or the daily lives of the people they represent? This repository of ethical world views of nature will eventually include hundreds of entries in an open source format to allow all those of interest, be they philosophers, students, policy makers or those who want to understand others, to consider their world view.

 

Outline of the report and call for contributions [pdf-260KB] 

The following entries are open for comment, and are examples of the types of entry we encourage from every group in the world. Please email your entries to rushsap.bgk@unesco.org

  • Ancient  Green  Wisdom:  How  the  indigenous  peoples  of  southwestern  Yunnan  and their ancient tea trees continue the way in sustainability by Jeff Fuchs, Explorer-Author 

The following is a list of current working group participants:

Dr. Jasdev Rai (Chair of the project): jsrai100[at]yahoo.co.uk
Dr. Alireza Bagheri: ali.bagherichimeh[at]utoronto.ca
Mr. Andrew Bosworth: a.bosworth[at]unesco.org 
Professor D. Nesy: nesy.daniel[at]gmail.com
Dr. Arthur Saniotis: saniotis[at]yahoo.co.uk 
Dr. Ayoub Abu-Dayyeh: e_casesociety[at]yahoo.com
Dr. Darryl Macer: d.macer[at]unesco.org 

Dr. Luca Scarantino: scaranti[at] ehess.fr

Ms. Suvi Moilanen: suvimo[at] student.uef.fi

Ms. Shan Ni: vency2233[at] gmail.com
Dr. Engelbert C. Pasag: engelmo[at]yahoo.com
Ms. Kayo Uejima: kayo[at]lablink.jp
Professor On-Kwok Lai: oklai[at]ksc.kwansei.ac.jp
Mr. Marlone M. Araneta: enolram[at]yahoo.com
Mr Marco Antonio Zamboni Zalamena: zambonizalamena[at]gmail.com
Dr. Minakshi Bhardwaj: bhardwajm[at]cardiff.ac.uk 
Dr Mohd Hazim Murad: drhazim[at]um.edu.my 
Mr. Nat Tuivavalagi: nat.tuivavalagi[at]gmail.com 
Ms. Napat Chaipraditkul: napat[at]eubios.info
Dr. Sultan Ismail: sultanismail[at]gmail.com

Dr. Hassan Kaya: Kaya [at] ukzn.ac.za
Dr. Tamara Kudaibergenova: ahtamar[at]hotmail.com
Dr. Sailau Suaalii-Sauni: s.suaalii[at]auckland.ac.nz
Professor Shui Chuen Lee: shuiclee[at]cc.ncu.edu.tw
Dr. Siti Nor: sitinuraninor[at]um.edu.my
Professor Sivanandam Panneerselvam: sps[at]md4.vsnl.net.in  
Ph.D. Philipp P. Thapa: thapa[at]uni-greifswald.de
Richa Singh: singhricha384[at]gmail.com 
Mr. Alexandre Herbetta: alexandre_herbetta[at]yahoo.com.br 
Dr. Bruce Albert: brucesergealbert[at]gmail.com 

Mr. Jeff fuchs: vandor81[at]gmail.com

Ms. Eglee Zent: egleelzent[at]gmail.com
Ms. Eliane Camargo: camargo[at]vjf.cnrs.fr
Ms. Fabiana Maizza: fabimaizza[at]hotmail.com
Mr. Gilton Mendes/Mr. Joao Paulo Tukano: giltonmendes[at]terra.com.br
Ms. BunRong Kouy: bunrong.k[at]gmail.com

 

This project is conducted in collaboration with the SIkh Human Rights Group, UK; the International Council for Philosophy and Humanistic Studies; and a number of universities around the world. Follow the links to other philosophical dialogues of UNESCO Bangkok and teaching of philosophy.

Among the conferences held in this project, the Joint UNESCO-University of Pune Conference in October 2012 saw about 40 scholars present a wide range of Indian and Asian traditions.  A Conference to explore African philosophies and world views will be held in May 2013 in Durban, South Africa. The dates for meetings in Latin America and Asia for 2013 are to be informed when available.

If interested in joining the working group, or participating in a meeting, please send an email to: rushsap.bgk@unesco.org
 

This page was last updated on 19 January 2013