Follow Us:

Stakeholders Responsibilities



What are stakeholders’ responsibilities towards the environment and to future generations?  Is a rights’ based framework really appropriate for environmental ethics, when an emphasis on responsibilities may be more important? When regional or global consensus cannot be reached, do countries have a responsibility to do what is ‘ethically correct’, even if no-one else will? The group will articulate the responsibilities of scientists, policy makers (funding and regulation), the public (including consumers and non-consumers of different products), investors, companies, institutions, particular interest groups (e.g. geographically close to a power plant, occupational groups, faith groups), and other living organisms, as examples in a cross-cultural perspective.


Outline of the draft report for WG-6 is being developed and will be posted for discussion when available.

Future meetings under planning.

The following is a list of current working group participants:

Professor Ajith de Alwis: ajith_de_alwis[at]sltnet.lk
Mr. Eng Namiz Musafer: namizm[at]gmail.com
Dr. Anant Bhan: anantbhan[at]gmail.com 
Ms. Carol Farbotko: carol.farbotko[at]gmail.com
Professor Sirimali Fernando: chm[at]nsf.ac.lk
Dr. John Fien: john.fien[at]rmit.edu.au
Dr. Fukuya Iino: Iino[at]hq.unu.edu
Dr. Sultan Ismail: sultanismail[at]gmail.com
Dr. Brigitte Jansen: jansen[at]jansen-bioethicslaw.com
Dr. Tamara Kudaibergenova: ahtamar[at]hotmail.com 
Professor On-Kwok Lai: oklai[at]ksc.kwansei.ac.jp
Professor Shui Chuen Lee: shuiclee[at]cc.ncu.edu.tw
Dr. Darryl Macer: d.macer[at]unesco.org
Ms. Lea Ivy O. Manzanero: leaivy.manzanero[at]gmail.com; arrc[at]arrc-hre.org
Mr. Giovanni Velez: giov[at]ait.ac.th


If interested in joining the working group, or participating in a meeting, please send an email to: rushsap.bgk@unesco.org.

 

This page was last updated on 8 January 2010.