Follow Us:

Stakeholders Responsibilities

What are stakeholders’ responsibilities towards the environment and to future generations?  Is a rights’ based framework really appropriate for environmental ethics, when an emphasis on responsibilities may be more important? When regional or global consensus cannot be reached, do countries have a responsibility to do what is ‘ethically correct’, even if no-one else will? The group will articulate the responsibilities of scientists, policy makers (funding and regulation), the public (including consumers and non-consumers of different products), investors, companies, institutions, particular interest groups (e.g. geographically close to a power plant, occupational groups, faith groups), and other living organisms, as examples in a cross-cultural perspective.

Outline of the draft report for WG-6 is being developed and will be posted for discussion when available.

Future meetings under planning.

The following is a list of current working group participants:

Professor Ajith de Alwis: ajith_de_alwis[at]
Mr. Eng Namiz Musafer: namizm[at]
Dr. Anant Bhan: anantbhan[at] 
Ms. Carol Farbotko: carol.farbotko[at]
Professor Sirimali Fernando: chm[at]
Dr. John Fien: john.fien[at]
Dr. Fukuya Iino: Iino[at]
Dr. Sultan Ismail: sultanismail[at]
Dr. Brigitte Jansen: jansen[at]
Dr. Tamara Kudaibergenova: ahtamar[at] 
Professor On-Kwok Lai: oklai[at]
Professor Shui Chuen Lee: shuiclee[at]
Dr. Darryl Macer: d.macer[at]
Ms. Lea Ivy O. Manzanero: leaivy.manzanero[at]; arrc[at]
Mr. Giovanni Velez: giov[at]

If interested in joining the working group, or participating in a meeting, please send an email to:


This page was last updated on 8 January 2010.