Follow Us:

Working Group 1: Challenges of Globalization to Philosophy and Democracy

This is the webpage for working group 1 of the Asia-Arab Inter-regional Philosophical Dialogues coordinated by RUSHSAP, UNESCO Bangkok.

The general introduction to the UNESCO Inter-regional Philosophical Dialogues is here.


Introduction:
This group will look at the emerging challenges to philosophy and democracy as a result of globalization.

Timeframe and report outline: being developed [will be posted for discussion when available].


The following is a list of current working group participants:
Mr. Issa Abyad: arm@cyberia.jo; consultant.jo@gmail.com
Dr. Masahira Anesaki:  anesakim@blue.ocn.ne.jp
Dr. Alireza Bagheri: ali.bagherichimeh@utoronto.ca
Dr. Philip Cam: p.cam@unsw.edu.au
Mr. Xavier Gillet: axe@penserpouragir.org; mali@rocare.org
Mr. Numan Hazar: numanhazar@gmail.com
Dr. Rainier Ibana: ribana@ateneo.edu
Ms. Lana Issa: l.issa@unescobkk.org
Mr. Altynai Karasaeva: akarasai@mail.kg
Dr. Konstantin S. Khroutski: hrucki@mail.ru; hrucki@gmail.com
Mr. Yersu Kim: kimyersu@khu.ac.kr
Mr. Glen Kurokawa: g.kurokawa@unescobkk.org
Dr. On-Kwok Lai: oklai@ksc.kwansei.ac.jp
Dr. Un Leang: leangrupp@yahoo.com
Dr. Darryl Macer: d.macer@unescobkk.org
Mr. Mohamed Mesbahi: mesbahi@menara.ma
Dr. Masahiro Morioka: mail@lifestudies.org; seimeigaku2008@yahoo.co.jp
Mr. Krishna Murali: k.murali@unescobkk.org
Mr. Kazashi Nobuo: nkazashi@yahoo.com
Dr. S. Panneerselvam: sps@md4.vsnl.net.in
Ms. Souria Saad-Zoy: s.saad-zoy@unesco.org.ma
Mr. Henry Silverman: hsilverm@medicine.umaryland.edu
Dr. Sarinya Sophia: s.sophia@unescobkk.org
Ms. Marietta Stepanyants: mstepani@iph.ras.ru; marietta_35@mail.ru
Mr. Bakanebo Tamaroa: bakanebo@piango.net
Dr. Nacanieli S. Tuivavalagi: filia@samoa.ws
Dr. Tu Weiming: wtu@fas.harvard.edu
Dr. Naoshi Yamawaki: nao-hiro@mub.biglobe.ne.jp
Dr. Feruza Zagirtdinova: z-fb@mail.ru


More members are welcome. All inquiries to: rushsap.bgk [at] unesco.org.

Previous meetings of this working group are found on the Dialogues page.

5 August 2008: Seoul National University, Seoul, Korea
* Programme (pdf file) * Report (pdf file)

17-18 November 2006: Rabat, Morrocco
* Report (English, pdf file) (Arabic, pdf file)

Previous meetings of other working groups:


6-7 August 2008: The Asia-Pacific Philosophy Education Network for Democracy (APPEND), Project on Education for Democracy and Sustainable Development in Ewha Women’s University, Seoul, Korea

4 August 2008: UNESCO Asia-Arab Interregional Philosophical Dialogues on Philosophy Facing the Challenges of Modern Technology in Seoul National University, Seoul, Korea * Report (English, pdf file)

26 July 2008: Joint UNESCO-UNITAR Dialogues on the Role of Philosophers in War and Peace in UNITAR, Hiroshima, Japan

25 July 2008: UNESCO Asia-Arab Interregional Philosophical Dialogues on the Roles of Philosophy in War and Peace in UNITAR, Hiroshima, Japan

* Report (English, pfd file)  
 


An email listserve has also been established and that listserve is open for all to join: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/AsiaArabPhilosophicalDialogues.


If interested in joining the working group, or participating in a meeting, please send an email to: rushsap@unescobkk.org.



Disclaimer:
UNESCO makes every effort to ensure, but does not guarantee, the accuracy of the information on its website. Hyperlinks to other web sites imply neither responsibility for, nor approval of, the information contained in those other websites on the part of UNESCO.


This page was last updated on 23 September 2012.