Follow Us:

Working Group 3: The Role of Philosophy in War and Peace

This is the webpage for working group 3 of the Asia-Arab Inter-regional Philosophical Dialogues coordinated by RUSHSAP, UNESCO Bangkok.

The general introduction to the UNESCO Inter-regional Philosophical Dialogues is here.

Joint UNESCO-UNITAR Dialogues on Ethics of Nuclear Energy Technologies, 25-27 July 2008, UNITAR, Hiroshima, Japan
*A response to the Depleted Uranium (DU) Resolution adopted at the United Nations General Assembly on 5 December, 2007 (pdf file with Conference conclusions)

Joint UNESCO-UNITAR Dialogues on the Role of Philosophers in War and Peace, 25-27 July 2008, UNITAR, Hiroshima, Japan
* A Proposal to Make a Declaration on Enduring Peace and Justice (pdf file with Conference conclusions)

Introduction:
This group focuses on the promotion and strengthens the role of philosophy in War and Peace issues.


Timeframe and report outline: being developed [will be posted for discussion when available].


The following is a list of current working group participants:

Dr. Hassan Alubaidi: alubaidi_drhassan@yahoo.com
Dr. Jayapaul Azariah: jazariah@yahoo.com
Dr. Surjeet Kaur Chahal: skaur56@rediffmail.com
Dr. Fred Dallmayr: Fred.R.Dallmayr.1@nd.edu; Dallmayr.l@nd.edu
Dr. Rainier Ibana: ribana@ateneo.edu
Mr. Sirajul Islam: siraj_tuli@yahoo.co.in
Ms. Lana Issa: l.issa@unescobkk.org
Ms. Plugplung Kongchana: chainars@swu.ac.th
Mr. Glen Kurokawa: g.kurokawa@unescobkk.org
Dr. Darryl Macer: d.macer@unescobkk.org
Dr. Masahiro Morioka: mail@lifestudies.org; seimeigaku2008@yahoo.co.jp
Mr. Kazashi Nobuo: nkazashi@yahoo.com
Mr. Chanroeun Pa: chanroeunkh@yahoo.com
Dr. S. Panneerselvam: sps@md4.vsnl.net.in
Mr. Saithong Phommavong: sai7512@yahoo.com
Ms. Souria Saad-Zoy: s.saad-zoy@unesco.org.ma
Dr. Sarinya Sophia: s.sophia@unescobkk.org
Dr. Xiao Wei: xiaowei@tsinghua.edu.cn


More members are welcome. All inquiries to: rushsap.bgk [at] unesco.org.

Previous meetings of this working group are found on the Dialogues page.


Previous meetings of this working group:

25-26 July 2008: UNITAR, Hiroshima, Japan

* Draft programme (pdf file) * Programme (pdf file) * Report (pdf file)
* Background papers: Encounters of Asia and the Arab Region with Modernity and The Invasion of Kuwait: Reasons, Agents and Chances for Peace

17-18 November 2006: Rabat, Morocco
* Report (Pfd file)


Previous meetings of other working groups:

6-7 August 2008: The Asia-Pacific Philosophy Education Network for Democracy (APPEND), Project on Education for Democracy and Sustainable Development in Ewha Women’s University, Seoul, Korea

5 August 2008: UNESCO Asia-Arab Interregional Philosophical Dialogues on Challenges of Globalization to Philosophy and Democracy in Seoul National University, Seoul, Korea * Report (English, pdf file)

4 August 2008: UNESCO Asia-Arab Interregional Philosophical Dialogues on Philosophy Facing the Challenges of Modern Technology in Seoul National University, Seoul, Korea * Report (English, pdf file)

17-18 November 2006: Rabat, Morocco, Inter-Regional Philosophical Dialogue between Asia and the Arab World. *Report (Arabic, pdf file) (English, pdf file)


An email listserve has also been established and that listserve is open for all to join, http://groups.yahoo.com/group/AsiaArabPhilosophicalDialogues.




Disclaimer:

UNESCO makes every effort to ensure, but does not guarantee, the accuracy of the information on its website. Hyperlinks to other web sites imply neither responsibility for, nor approval of, the information contained in those other websites on the part of UNESCO.


This page was last updated on 23 September 2012.